Radogno Sworn into Third Term as Senate Republican Leader

State Sen. Christine Radogno was sworn into her position to represent the 41st District during the 98th General Assembly on Wednesday.

State Sen. Christine Radogno (R-Lemont) was elected to her third term as Senate Republican Leader during the 98th General Assembly’s inaugural ceremonies at the State Capitol on Wednesday.

“It’s a tremendous honor to once again be elected by my peers to this position, each of whom is a leader in his or her own right,” Radogno said in a release. “I extend my sincere appreciation to the people of the 41st Senate District. I consider it a privilege to serve them, and I thank them for the opportunity they have given me to serve as Leader.”

Radogno, who has served in the Illinois Senate since 1997, said in the release that she looks forward to continuing to work with her legislative colleagues on tackling some of the biggest issues facing the state. She said it will take a collective effort, including balancing the state budget, reducing state debt, and reforming the state’s public employee pension systems.

“We can’t allow the status quo to carry on—it’s time to restore the citizens’ faith inIllinois government," Radogno said. "The Senate Republican Caucus is ready to get down to business and work in a bipartisan fashion to attract employers, pay our bills on time, and live within our means."

Radogno said she hopes to continue bipartisan cooperation during her third time—despite the ideological differences that remain between the two parties.

“When we are able to put petty partisan bickering aside and work together, lawmakers have shown their ability to achieve major accomplishments,” Radogno said in the release. “It pays dividends if we work with each other. Moving forward, I hope that we continue to embrace that same attitude of civil, respectful debate and thoughtful discussion. We will need a productive exchange of ideas and collaboration if we are going to move Illinois forward.”

Additionally, Radogno announced the Senate Republican leadership team for the 98th General Assembly. 

Sen. Matt Murphy (R-Palatine) will serve as Deputy Republican Leader, while Sens. Bill Brady (R-Bloomington), Kirk Dillard (R-Hinsdale), Dave Luechtefeld (R-Okawville) and Dave Syverson (R-Rockford) will serve as Assistant Republican Leaders. The Caucus Chair will be Sen. Pam Althoff (R-Crystal Lake), and Sen. Tim Bivins (R-Dixon) will step up as the Senate Republican Whip.”

- Submitted by Sen. Christine Radogno's Office


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »